Iowa’s Federal Disaster Request

Iowa Congressman Dave Lobesack is calling on the President to approve the federal disaster request for 19 Iowa counties, several of them in this area.

Governor Branstad says he’s still awaiting an answer from Washington on his request for Des Moines, Lee, Van Buren, Muscatine, Keokuk, Wapello, and 13 other counties to be declared “disasters” from the severe weather and flooding last month.

The White House earlier this week declared Illinois counties federal disaster areas.  Among them in our area, were Henderson and McDonough. Warren County applied but didn’t make the cut.