New Illinois Laws
Several new laws will take effect January 1st in Illinois.
Two may be particularly hard habits to break.
Throwing a cigarette butt on the ground will now be considered littering in the state. Also, talking on the phone while driving will be illegal.
Illinois State Police are reminding motorists that unless you are using a hands free or voice operated mode on your phone, you will be fined for holding it up to your ear and driving with one hand on the wheel.
The first time a person violates the new law they will face a fine of $75. Second time it’s $100, third it’s $125, and fourth is $150.