Illinois residents have just begun applying for licenses to carry concealed weapons.
But lawmakers have already begun tinkering with the new law.
The Daily Herald reported today that legislators have introduced bills to increase penalties for carrying guns where they’re not allowed; punish instructors who don’t carry out training; and lower the legal age for carrying.
Illinois became the last state in the nation to allow concealed carry last July. It allows anyone with 16 hours of training to pay a $150 fee to get a license.
Villa Park Democratic Rep. Deborah Conroy wants to increase criminal penalties for taking a gun into a school. Republican State Rep. Ed Sullivan of Mundelein wants instructors who commit fraud to go to jail.