Federal assistance triggered for victims of April 26th tornado outbreak

Des Moines, IA-  President Biden has issued a federal disaster declaration for eight counties that were struck by tornadoes on April 26th.

Radio Iowa reports that the presidential disaster declaration triggers assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the Small Business Administration.

The western Iowa community of Minden, in Pottawattamie County, was hard hit on April 26th, with dozens of homes and businesses damaged or destroyed. Pottawattamie County is now covered by this federal disaster declaration, along with Clarke, Harrison, Mills, Polk, Ringgold, Shelby and Union Counties. Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in those eight counties may begin applying to FEMA for individual assistance.

The National Weather Service has confirmed the weather system that moved into Iowa on April 26th spawned 24 tornadoes.

Nonprofit groups as well as homeowners, renters and business owners who had their property damaged or destroyed April 26th may qualify for low-interest disaster loans from the Small Business Administration.

Working capital loans may be available for private and nonprofit groups as well as small businesses and ag coops that were hit.